About the Department of cardiac surgery

Academician Shalimov A.A. founded the Department of Cardiac Surgery and Emergency Cardiology at V.T.Zaytsev Institute of General and Emergency Surgery of the National Academy of Medical Sciences of Ukraine in 1966, at that time cardiac surgery was still in its infancy in the world.

Now the department can accommodate 50 patients, and is a full-fledged center of cardiovascular surgery with resuscitation of nine beds and pediatric cardiac surgery unit.

Each year, the department performs more than 800 surgical interventions of various diseases of heart and aorta for adults and children. These are surgeries for congenital heart defects, surgeries for critical defects of newborns, prosthetics and plastic of heart valves, coronary artery bypass surgeries, angioplasty and stenting of coronary arteries, including acute myocardial infarction, endovascular treatment of congenital heart defects, electrophysiological surgeries, implantation of artificial heart rhythm drivers and much more.

The professional team of the department is fairly young, ambitious and dynamic. Doctors of the department constantly improve their professional skills; have internships in foreign and Ukrainian clinics. The Department is also involved in research activities in the field of cardiology and cardiac surgery, and seven employees have an academic degree.

Each year, the department performs 200 surgical interventions in children with congenital heart disease, 15% of which are emergency surgery in newborns that almost completely covers the needs of the region in this kind of surgery.

The professional team of the department is fairly young, ambitious and dynamic. Doctors of the department constantly improve their professional skills; have internships in foreign and Ukrainian clinics. The Department is also involved in research activities in the field of cardiology and cardiac surgery, and seven employees have an academic degree.

The Department administer aid to colleagues and patients in the following areas:

  • surgical treatment of coronary heart disease and its complications (including emergency surgical care in myocardial infarction);
  • congenital heart disease;
  • surgical treatment of acquired heart disease (runs as a valve replacement, and various types of plastic surgery with preservation of the natural heart valves);
  • combination of heart defects with coronary heart disease;
  • cardiac arrhythmias;
  • thrombolysis and thrombectomy with pulmonary embolism, surgery treatment of postembolic pulmonary hypertension;
  • cardiac tumors;
  • pericarditis;
  • heart failure.

Об отделении кардиохирургии

Отделение кардиохирургии и неотложной кардиологии Института общей и неотложной хирургии им. В.Т.Зайцева Национальной Академии медицинских наук Украины было основано в 1966 году академиком Шалимовым А.А., когда кардиохирургия еще только зарождалась во всем мире.

Сейчас отделение рассчитано на 50 коек и представляет собой полноценный центр сердечно-сосудистой хирургии в котором есть своя реанимация на 9 коек и блок детской кардиохирургии.

Ежегодно в отделении выполняется более 800 оперативных вмешательств при различных заболеваниях сердца и аорты у взрослых и детей – это операции при врожденных пороках сердца, операции при критических пороках у новорожденных, протезирование и пластики клапанов сердца, аорто-коронарное шунтирование, ангиопластики и стентирование коронарных артерий, в том числе при остром инфаркте миокарда, эндоваскулярное лечение врожденных пороков сердца, электрофизиологические операции, имплантации искусственных водителей ритма сердца и многое другое.

Профессиональная команда отделения является достаточно молодой, амбициозной и динамично развивающейся. Врачи отделения постоянно повышают свое профессиональное мастерство, стажируются в зарубежных и украинских клиниках. Отделение занимается также научной деятельностью в области кардиологии и кардиохирургии, а семеро сотрудников имеют ученую степень.

Ежегодно в отделении выполняется около 200 оперативных вмешательств у детей с врожденными пороками сердца, 15 % из которых – неотложные операции у новорожденных, что практически полностью закрывает потребности региона в этом виде хирургической помощи.

Профессиональная команда отделения является достаточно молодой, амбициозной и динамично развивающейся. Врачи отделения постоянно повышают свое профессиональное мастерство, стажируются в зарубежных и украинских клиниках. Отделение занимается также научной деятельностью в области кардиологии и кардиохирургии, а семеро сотрудников имеют ученую степень.

Отделение оказывает помощь коллегам и пациентам по следующим направлениям:

  • хирургическое лечение ишемической болезни сердца и её осложнений (в том числе неотложная хирургическая помощь при инфаркте миокарда);
  • врожденные пороки сердца;
  • хирургическое лечение приобретенных пороков сердца (выполняется как протезирование клапанов, так и различные виды пластических операций с сохранением природных клапанов сердца);
  • сочетание пороков сердца с ишемической болезнью сердца;
  • нарушения ритма сердца;
  • тромболизис и тромбэктомия при тромбоэмболии легочной артерии, оперативное лечение постэмболической легочной гипертензии;
  • опухоли сердца;
  • перикардиты;
  • сердечная недостаточность.